Calendar

{$ videoTitle $}

Talks
Space as Response: Taiwan Perspectives After the 1980s

Revolving around “response,” this talk introduces the independent art space research project by Asia Art Archive (AAA) in Taiwan, and invites three speakers—WU Mali, CHENG Mei-Ya, and Amy CHENG—to discuss several key phenomena relating to independent art spaces in Taiwan, and how they’ve responded to the evolution of cultural policies, technology, and the curatorial ecology since the 1980s.

WU Mali will talk about the historical context of the late 1980s, describing how Taiwanese artists organized themselves, and how their self-organization was linked up with physical art spaces via cultural subsidy schemes in the 1990s. CHENG Mei-Ya will discuss how artists’ assemblages and artistic explorations extended from physical to digital spaces as internet culture emerged in the 1990s. Amy CHENG will unravel the context within which independent art spaces, such as TheCube Project Space established in 2010, gradually become sites for praxes of curating, creative experimentation, and knowledge production.

As the first public event of the Independent Art Spaces of Taiwan series, this talk is collaboratively held by C-LAB and AAA. In addition to promoting art archive research, the series highlights the latent publicness in the research process, stimulates discussions on the history of art spaces, and strengthens connections between artistic communities in Taiwan and Hong Kong.

 

TIME: 2022.08.14 (SUN) 14:30–16:30
VENUE: CREATORS’ Space R102 Coworking Space (Online Registration)

 

TOPICS AND SPEAKERS
▌Art Spaces for Asia: A History for the Future
John TAIN
John TAIN is Head of Research at Asia Art Archive. His recent projects include Translations, Expansions at documenta fifteen (2022); Art Schools of Asia (2021–22); the exhibition Crafting Communities (2020); and MAHASSA (Modern Art Histories in and across Africa, and South and Southeast Asia, 2019–2020), a collaboration with the Dhaka Art Summit and the Institute for Comparative Modernities at Cornell University. He is an editor for the Exhibition Histories series with Afterall and others. He also serves as an advisor for Asia Forum, an ongoing discursive program. He was previously a curator for modern and contemporary collections at the Getty Research Institute in Los Angeles. 

From the Guerrilla Institutional Critique to the Rise of Alternative Spaces
WU Mali
WU Mali graduated from Kunstakademie Düsseldorf in Germany. She currently teaches in the Graduate Institute of Interdisciplinary Art at the National Kaohsiung Normal University. WU’s avant-garde artistic practice and research focus on the active interventions of art in the public sphere. She has engaged in social and political critique from a feminist perspective through her works since the 1990s. She has also run a series of community-based projects on new public art since 2000. She won the National Award for Arts, Taiwan, in 2016. In recent years, WU has consistently dealt with ecological issues by adopting art as an approach to bridge culture and nature, demonstrating the potential for contemporary art and the creative energy of an artist.

The Briar Path for Liberating and Fulfilling Imagination
CHENG Mei-Ya
CHENG Mei-Ya is a freelance curator who’s especially interested in the system and power structure of artistic institutions. She was involved in the first Internet media experiment of art in Taiwan: the [email protected] Web TV Site (1999), as well as in the initiation, establishment, and operation of the Taipei Contemporary Art Center (TCAC, 2009–2022). She also organized Curating Now and the Institutions (TCAC, 2013) and Going Public–Common Tasks (Museum of National Taipei University of Education, 2016). Her curatorial works include The 6th Queens International (in collaboration with Hitomi Iwasaki, Queens Museum, New York City, 2013) and Public Spirits (Centre for Contemporary Art Ujazdów Castle, Warsaw, 2016).

Independent Curating, Spatial Praxis and Knowledge Production: TheCube Project Space’s Experience
Amy CHENG
As a co-founder of TheCube Project Space and based on the praxis of “outreach curating,” Amy CHENG has not only devoted herself to in-depth cooperation with artists, cultural activists, and researchers, but also developed long-term research and curatorial plans. Her curatorial work primarily focuses on Asia’s history and geopolitics as well as its relation to the world. Since 2010, she has promoted research on modern sound culture in Taiwan, and expanded TheCube Project Space into a platform of exhibition, publishing, online database, and internet radio.

 

 

▶ Free Admission via Online Registration.
▶ Upon submission through the Online Registration Form, a seat is reserved for you. A reminder will be sent to your email prior to the event. If you didn’t receive the reminder email, please check your Spam or Junk email.
▶ Please wear a mask at all times at C-LAB.
▶ The organizer reserves the right to adjust and change the activities according to the epidemic situation.

行事曆

{$ videoTitle $}

講談
空間作為一種回應:1980後的臺灣經驗

本講座將介紹香港亞洲藝術文獻庫即將在臺灣進行的獨立藝術空間研究計劃;同時以「回應」為主題 ,邀請吳瑪悧、鄭美雅與鄭慧華等三位主講人以自身經驗剖析臺灣的獨立藝術空間自1980年代至今的關鍵現象,並討論這些空間如何回應藝文政策、科技發展,以及策展生態。

吳瑪悧將從1980年代末談起,描繪臺灣當時的藝術家如何自我組織,以及他們其後如何隨著1990年代的藝文補助機制與實體空間掛鉤。鄭美雅則會談論1990年代興起的網路文化浪潮,如何使藝術家的集結與藝術探索從實體空間延伸至數位空間。最後,鄭慧華將以2010年成立的「立方計劃空間」為例,探討此類獨立藝術空間怎樣逐步成為大型機構之外的策展、創作實驗與生產知識的場域。

本場講座是「臺灣獨立藝術空間檔案計劃」的首場公共活動,由臺灣當代文化實驗場與亞洲藝術文獻庫共同舉辦,期望在推動藝術檔案研究的同時,亦能彰顯研究過程中潛在的公共性,活絡藝術空間歷史的討論,並強化臺灣與香港兩地藝術社群的連結。

 

時間:2022.08.14(日)14:30–16:30
地點:CREATORS空間102 共享吧報名網址

 

講題及講者
亞洲藝術空間:未來的歷史
譚鴻鈞
亞洲藝術文獻庫研究總監。他近期參與之活動包括第十五屆卡塞爾文件展的展覽「翻越」(2022)、亞洲藝術學院(2021–22)、「社群築織」展覽(2020),以及與達卡藝術高峰會及康乃爾大學比較現代性研究所合作的「區域及跨區域現代藝術史︰非洲、南亞及東南亞」(2019–20年)計劃。譚鴻鈞也是Afterall《Exhibition Histories》書系的編輯與「亞洲論壇」顧問,並曾任蓋蒂研究所現代和當代館藏的策展人。

從游擊性的體制批判到另翼空間的崛起
吳瑪悧
畢業於德國杜塞道夫藝術學院,目前任教於國立高雄師範大學跨領域藝術研究所。吳瑪悧的研究及創作延續前衛傳統,關注藝術在公領域中的積極介入。其作品自1990年代起從女性主義角度進行政治社會批判,並於2000年展開以社群為本的新形態公共藝術策劃。吳瑪悧於2016年獲得國家文藝獎,近年持續關注生態環境議題,並以藝術作為人文與自然的中介,展現藝術型態的多樣可能與藝術家的豐沛能量。

開放與實踐想像的荊棘之路
鄭美雅
獨立策展人,關注藝術機構的系統與其權力結構,曾參與臺灣第一個藝術網路媒體實驗:在地實驗網路電視台(1999),以及台北當代藝術中心(TCAC)的發起、成立及運作(2009–2022),並曾策辦「策展與機構論壇」及平台交流計劃如「走向公眾──共同課題」。策展經歷包括「第六屆皇后雙年展」(與岩崎仁美共同策展,紐約皇后美術館,2013)及「公共精神」(Ujazdów Castle當代藝術中心,華沙,2016)。

獨立策展、空間實踐與知識生產:立方經驗
鄭慧華
立方計劃空間的共同成立者,以「拓展策展」為實踐,致力於與藝術家、文化行動者及研究者的深度合作,並發展長期的研究暨策展計劃。鄭慧華的策展大多關注自身所處的亞洲與世界的關係、歷史及地緣政治。自2010年起,她共同推動臺灣現代聲響文化的研究,並以立方計劃空間為平台,將其延伸至展覽、出版、線上資料庫及網路廣播電台等多種文化形式的實踐。

 

 

 

 

▶活動免費參加,名額有限,額滿為止。
▶填寫表單即代表報名成功,活動前將再寄發提醒通知,若沒收到請查看垃圾郵件。
▶活動期間請全程配戴口罩。
▶主辦單位保有因應疫情狀況調整與變更活動之權利。