Calendar

{$ videoTitle $}

Talks
Introducing the Up Art Gallery Archive and Sin Pin Pier Archive

Sat, 20 Jan 20241:30–3:50pm CST

The evolution of contemporary art in southern Taiwan can be traced through the transformative journey of 64 Dayong Road in Kaohsiung. Starting in the 1980s as the Avant-Garde Promotion Centre, it later housed Up Art Gallery (1990–95) and Sin Pin Pier (1997–). This four-storey building has remained a pivotal landmark in the region’s artistic development, serving as a nexus for artists, exhibitions, and a diverse range of creative practices. The site provides a lens through which we can explore the evolution of modern and contemporary art in Kaohsiung, and gain insight into its unique “southern perspective” within Taiwan’s contemporary art landscape.

AAA Researcher Nicole Wang introduces the first two collections from the Independent Art Spaces of Taiwan project: Up Art Gallery Archive (1990–95) and Sin Pin Pier Archive (1997–). Together they comprise over 2,300 records, offering an insightful perspective of Kaohsiung’s contemporary art history. The archives include valuable materials related to exhibition histories, such as the Kaohsiung Contemporary Art Exhibition II (1991), which sparked critical discussions on the city’s contemporary art scene, and Exile and Banishment (1993), a pioneering exhibition that delved into the concept of themed exhibitions. The archives also feature a rich assortment of curated exhibition materials by artist Lee Jiun-Shyan, a founding member of Sin Pin Pier, enriching understandings of current historical narratives.

Assistant Professor Hsu Yuan-Ta from the Department of Art History at Tainan National University of the Arts will be in discussion. Professor Hsu offers insights on southern Taiwanese art history, expanding on the newly collated archival documents.

The event will be held in Mandarin.

TIME: 2022.01.20 (SAT) 13:30–15:50
VENUE: CREATORS’ Space R102 Coworking Space (Online Registration)
*The talk will be live-streamed on the C-LAB YouTube Channel (advance registration is required).

 SPEAKERS

|Nicole WANG
Project researcher, Asia Art Archive

|HSU Yuan-Ta
Curator. HSU received his PhD degree in Interdisciplinary Arts from Texas Tech University, USA. Currently working as an assistant professor at Department of Art History at Tainan National University of the Arts, HSU's research interests range from Taiwanese art history, the history of fine arts in Tainan, Taiwanese sculpture, to criticism of photography. He has curated Sio-pàng-phuānn (Labour Exchange)—Opening Exhibition of the Taikang Culture in 2019. Other collaborative curating projects in 2021 include Great Migrations: Lu Ming-Te, Takao.Taike.Southern Hue: Jiunshyan Lee, and Places of Being—Space and Materiality in Taiwan's Avant-Garde Art, 1980-2021. HSU's critiques are to be seen in The Sculpture Research SemiyearlyArt Accrediting, and Taiwan Crafts (Quarterly).

▶ Free Admission via Online Registration.
▶ Upon submission through the Online Registration Form, a seat is reserved for you. A reminder will be sent to your email prior to the event. If you didn’t receive the reminder email, please check your Spam or Junk email.
▶ The organizer reserves the right to adjust and change the activities according to the epidemic situation.

行事曆

{$ videoTitle $}

講談
介紹阿普畫廊與新浜碼頭藝術空間檔案

從1980年代的前衛藝術推展中心,到阿普畫廊(1990-1995)及新浜碼頭藝術空間(1997-),高雄市大勇路64號一直是南臺灣現當代藝術發展的重要地標。這棟四層高的樓房一度集結不同藝術家、展覽以及多樣的創作實踐,讓我們不僅能夠考察高雄當代藝術發展的歷程、風格、社群及產業關係,也得以一窺解嚴後臺灣當代藝術中獨特的「南方觀點」。

在這場講座中,亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員汪怡君將介紹「臺灣獨立藝術空間檔案計劃」首波發布的兩個檔案:「阿普畫廊檔案」和「新浜碼頭藝術空間檔案」。這兩個檔案收錄了有關《高雄當代藝術展II》(1991)、《流亡與放逐──當代台灣藝術總體的不可名狀之境》(1993)以及由藝術家兼新浜碼頭藝術空間創始成員李俊賢所策劃多個展覽的珍貴文獻資料。透過總計逾2,300份文獻紀錄,我們能看見檔案如何捕捉了高雄的當代藝術史脈絡。

活動邀請到國立臺南藝術大學藝術史學系的許遠達助理教授,以及阿普畫廊的兩位創始成員木殘與許自貴兩位老師共同對談,以這次新發布的檔案文獻爲基礎,分享彼此對於南臺灣藝術史發展的參與過程及觀察。

時間:2024.01.20(SAT)13:30-15:50
地點:CREATORS空間102 共享吧

講者

|汪怡君
亞洲藝術文獻庫研究員臺灣計畫研究員。

|許遠達
策展人,畢業於美國德州理工大學藝術跨領域博士班,現為臺南藝術大學藝術史學系助理教授,研究領域著重臺灣美術史、臺南地方美術史、臺灣雕塑及攝影評論研究。曾策劃2019年「台江相放伴──台江文化中心慶成大展」,與協力策劃2021年「大遷徙:盧明德個展」、「TAKAO.台客.南方HUE:李俊賢」、「所在:境與物的前衛藝術1980-2021」等展覽。評論散見於《雕塑研究》、《藝術認證》及《臺灣工藝》。

▶活動免費參加,名額有限,額滿為止。
▶填寫表單即代表報名成功,活動前將再寄發提醒通知,若沒收到請查看垃圾郵件。
▶主辦單位保有因應疫情狀況調整與變更活動之權利。